About Me, Again.

I was asked to do a bio for a new venture that I’m working on and I liked the flow of the writing so I decided to share it on here. It’s a different way of saying what I’ve said before with a sprinkle of some new things. Enjoy.

The first thing that you will learn about me is just how much I despise introductory paragraphs. I always have such a hard time trying to craft the PERFECT opening sentences. I will literally sit here for hours trying to figure out how to tell you what I am going to talk about without telling you everything. I blame my 12th grade AP English teacher. She was the devil. My writing was never good enough for her so I became OBSESSED with trying to prove myself to her. I wrote the best literary piece of my high school career on what my future would look like for my senior project. Comma usage was stupendous, dictation, imagery, and metaphors on FLEEK! The heffa gave me an 89% and wrote, “Good” at the top of the page and took off for not having the regulatory five sentences in the introduction and a run on sentence in the third paragraph… The. Devil.

My name is, She’Kerra and I am 25 years old. I feel like my age is important because it eludes to the fact that I am in a very pivotal time in my life. Kind of like a Brittany Spears, “Not a girl, not yet a woman” type deal. Looking for an adult but realizing that you’re an adult but you need an adultier adult. Knowing a lot but not knowing enough. Wondering when you are going to arrive because you know you have come too far to turn back now. I’m still trying to figure myself out so it’s hard to try to tell you just exactly who I am. I feel like I am changing and evolving into this person that I do not yet know but I’m so excited to meet. I have flashes and visions of who she is and it makes me so anxious that I try to run after her in a full sprint but she says, “Pace yourself, baby girl. We will meet soon enough.” Future me is so chill. Current me? Current me teeters between chill and coffee fueled anxiousness. I have not yet discovered the balance between “let it happen” and “make it happen” so there is always an internal conflict of “GO, GO, GO!” and “Girl, just chill out.” But the more time that passes, the closer my right now comes to colliding with my one day.

I’m a southern girl who honestly could not imagine living any place where cheese grits and Crystal’s hot sauce is not readily available. Writing is my passion and coupled with my Faith, is the only thing that keeps me sane. If I could figure out a way to get paid enough to stay home and do it full time, I would quit my job today and buy a new pair of pajama bottoms to celebrate.

In my mind I’m a superhero. Think Storm’s melanated beauty, Wonder Woman’s indestructability, and Cat woman’s sex appeal. Yep, that’s me. I sit up and think of ways to save the world from all of its seemingly unlimited problems. In my heart, I was put here to do something to fix it, the problem is I haven’t quite figured out just what that something is yet. On the surface I am an introverted, sometimes hard and standoffish, simple girl who you could buy a $5 bouquet of flowers and would be the happiest girl alive. But underneath it all is someone who is forever on the verge of tears because my biggest fear is never manifesting all of the glory that I feel pulsating deep beneath the surface.

I am not a fan of conclusions, either. I feel like there’s always more that I could have said and maybe a better way to say what was said. But I’m learning to just trust my flow and go with what comes naturally. 

Peace& Blessings.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

