Missed Opportunities.

Yesterday was not a good day for me. It was Monday, I did not get enough sleep, and I was not feeling well. All of that combined with the fact that I just really did not want to go to work, instantly put me in a mood yesterday. So, I went throughout my day not really wanting to entertain anyone, in my own little zone, doing my own thing. I didn’t really have an attitude, I just was not particularly receptive to anyone or any non-work related conversations. So again, I go through my day, get off, go home, preparing to lay down for bed when this thought came barreling into the forefront of my thinking,

“How many opportunities did you miss out on today because of your “mood”?”

That one thought halted EVERYTHING. I went back and traced my day out mentally and although I could not find a particular moment where an opportunity presented itself, I do see moments where I could have definitely worked on my writing. All throughout the day I had ideas of topics, how to word things, and content that would pop into my head, and instead of taking the time to develop those thoughts, I told myself, “I’m not in the mood.” How incredibly foolish and immature of me. Here I am saying just how much I desire to walk in purpose but allowing how I feel to dictate to me what  I do. I had at least 8 hours yesterday to develop myself and I forfeited that time to a “mood.”

How many times have you did the same? Failed to take another step forward that day because, well, you just didn’t feel like it? What opportunity was missed because of it? What blessing was sitting there waiting for you at the very next step? We like to say that “What God has for me is for me,” but if we are not prepared for it, it won’t be. We’re praying for it but we are not prepared to receive it. We are praying for doors of opportunities to be opened but are not ready to walk through them if it is not at the right moment depending upon how we are feeling that day. Had an opportunity presented itself to me yesterday, I would have missed it. There’s no doubt in my mind. But, now that I am aware of that, I am taking steps rewire my thinking in order to ensure that I am able to recognize when a “mood” is about to cause me to forfeit destiny.

Don’t let opportunity pass you by today. Don’t allow a mood to dictate what you are going to do. Be proactive and make the decision to take a step forward despite how you feel.

Peace & Blessings.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

