Be Encouraged.

Have you encouraged someone today? If you have, how did it make you feel? If you haven’t, I encourage you to do so. You never really know how close someone is to giving up. That small moment that you take to speak life into someone else could be what keeps them from forfeiting their dream.

I’m a very observant person and I do a lot of people watching. I tend to spend a lot of time alone going to the movies, restaurants, the park, and many other places and if I am not engrossed in a book or lost in thought, I take a moment to put my phone down, and just watch. I take in how people move, how they respond to the elements around them, how they talk, if they smile, if they seem approachable, their disposition, and if I can tell just who that person is just by observing. As I’m sitting, I’ll find someone to focus on and I always ask myself, ” I wonder what God created them to do?” “What is their story?” “Are they operating in their purpose?” and if not, “Why not?” I will sit there and try to answer all these questions and build this life for this person where in the end they are living such a fulfilled and happy life. I know that if the subject of my observation ever locked eyes with me they would probably think I was weird because I realize that as I get to the end of their fictitious life, I am smiling. I’m smiling because they did it! They have accomplished what was in their hearts to accomplish and they are leaving this life completely emptied out because they have deposited their gifts into the world to benefit all that will come after them.

I am so intrigued with destiny and purpose because for so long I did not know why I was here. I struggled for years after high school because I was never taught how to take the time out to discover what I was passionate about and how to flow in that. For a few years, it was all about trying to survive and grasping at things to fill me that ultimately  turned out to leave me even more empty than before. So that eventually led to depression. But it was strange because I could see the light at the end of the tunnel, but I just could not figure out how to get there. It’s like seeing hope, faith, peace, joy, and fulfillment, but feeling as if you will never be able to obtain it. It frustrates you and, if you are not careful, can make you angry. Nothing good can be produced out of anger.

So now, because I have gone through that, it is easy to see when someone is in that place in life. I have been on the sidelines rooting people on from a distance because I know how it feels to feel like you are not going to make it. I now know that although that is admirable and the intention behind that is good, that benefits no one. Why do you think life coaches and motivational speakers are as prevalent today as they are? Because sometimes all people need is for someone to tell them that they can do it. People need to feel like someone is on their side and that they are not in this thing alone. No, you should not build your life on if someone says “job well done” or not. But it surely makes it a little bit easier to keep going when it is said. You never know how mountainous that cloud of doubt in someone’s life is. And that moment that you take to speak an encouraging word to that person could be the penetrating force that allows some light in.

I am purposing and challenging myself now to speak life to people when I sense that someone may need a little extra motivation. There are some amazing gifts and talents locked up in people and I think that it is time that they are unlocked. We need them, and we NEED you. I encourage you to encourage others and speak life from this day forward.

Peace & Blessings.

Leave a Reply

